Welcome graphic

December, 2015

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

It’s residency application season. The 700+ applications we received were the strongest ever. After an initial screening, 540 applications were reviewed by multiple reviewers for a possible interview invitation. Invitations for interviews were sent out at Thanksgiving time to 45 outstanding individuals. We look forward to spending time with them and getting to know them on January 11, 2016.

On another note, Dr. Brandi Hartley joined the faculty as Associate Program Director in September. She brings to the program a long-standing passion for orthopaedic education. Dr. Hartley recently attended the AAOS Basic Educator’s Course. This course is recognized as an important career milestone and a “rite of passage” in academic orthopaedics.

Dr. Michael Voor, Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Professor of Biomedical Engineering, and I are developing a bone research group to expand opportunities for collaboration with other departments and investigators in the School of Medicine. We are also looking for opportunities to expand translational research in orthopaedic surgery. .

Our department is heavily engaged with process
improvement and clinical services excellence at the
University of Louisville Hospital and the
KentuckyOne network. We anticipate seeing real,
measurable improvements in operations very soon.

That’s all for now. Best wishes for a great Holiday
season and a healthy and prosperous New Year.

Craig S. Roberts, MD, MBA
K. Armand Fischer Professor and Chair
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

Office Building